Spain is a Democratic State and its Constitution was ratified in a referendum on 6th December 1978. Spain is a parliamentary monarchy. Our king is Philip VI.

The main powers and institutions in Spain are:

  • Congreso de los Diputados and Senado (= Cortes Generales) have the legislative power. Citizens vote their members in General elections every four years.

  • Government represents the Executive power and it is made of the president and the ministers. The head of the Government is Mr. Rajoy.
  • Magistrates and judges are in charge of the judicial power. They judge the crimes and the enforcing of the law.


The Constitution divides Spain into the Autonomous Communities. There are 17 Autonomous or Regional Communities. Ceuta and Melilla in the North of Africa are considered autonomous cities.

The Spanish State is divided into:

  1. Provinces are a group of municipalities.
  2. Municipalities: cities, towns and villages ruled by a council. The mayor represents the city or village. Local authorities are elected by the citizens in local elections every four years.
  3. Autonomous Regional Governments have their own institutions and are elected every four years or when the Autonomous President determines in case of political instability. Regional Parliaments are called Asambleas, Cortes, Juntas or Parlamentos depending on the Regional Government.

spanish political organization

Unit 6 Spain Politics Activities.doc

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s